IMG 9875
Cases

Mattel aims to use only sustainable plastic by 2030

German PlayBack program starts as an innovation project

Mattel logo
Feedback
Photo from: Anne Polsak,

"To the point, productive, thoughtful, strategic - a good, harmonious flow where we learn super much and it's just a joy. I'm totally satisfied and would like to continue working with you for a longwork together!"

Anne Polsak,

Head of Corporate Communications DACH, Mattel GmbH
Content

By 2030, Mattel aims to transition its entire toy portfolio to circular plastics. HolyPoly helped develop a pioneering recycling program without greenwashing. In addition to consulting, the service also included the setup and operation of a customized take-back system. Together, they were able to lay the foundations for a closed material loop.

Brand mission

Converting a gigantic toy portfolio to circular plastic

Children create their own world with Barbies, drive Matchbox cars across floors and learn through play with Fisher-Price. Mattel classics have been shaping the next generation for more than 75 years - products that are predominantly made of plastic. Taking the company's purpose to the next level, global management has decided to rethink Mattel's use of plastics along the entire value chain and shift to sustainable production during this decade.

Mattel, Corporate Press Release, late 2019

"Mattel Announces Goal to Achieve 100% Recycled, Recyclable or Bio-based Plastic Materials in All Products and Packaging By 2030"

This goal means nothing less than a turning point in time that brings with it many challenges:

1. Upstream

Where will Mattel source materials in the future? Usable sources must be consistently sustainable, but also safe, reliable and compliant. A search for the needle in the trash heap.

2. Downstream

What design principles must Mattel products follow to be more recyclable? True recyclability is decided in the facilities of the regional waste management of target markets. An unusual perspective as a starting point for product development.

3. Brand activation

How can Mattel position itself early on? Plastic is an emotionally highly charged topic where the public quickly thinks of greenwashing. Especially at the beginning of a sustainability transformation, there are many technical details that are either secret or uninteresting for the target group, which are poorly suited for credible corporate communication.

CropIMG 0164
Feedback

"It's terrain we all don't feel so confident in because it's a big target. It's about finding the right wordings and the right tone. We want to make recycling popular and engaging without laying it on too thick or claiming things that aren't true."

Anne Polsak,

Head of Corporate Communications DACH, Mattel GmbH
Project goal

A pioneering recycling program - without greenwashing, but with R&D

Mattel has made the topic a priority. Initiatives have been launched in areas including packaging, product innovation, sourcing and communications. One of these is called Mattel PlayBack and aims to harness broken toys as a source of raw materials for production and learn from this process for the circular economy at large.

Anne Polsak

"The effort required to map this in-house would simply not have been in proportion, because it is a huge topic and a complex program. You specialized in exactly this and then took everything completely in hand as the project owner, also in project management, which helped extremely."

That's where HolyPoly comes in

Mattel approached us at the end of 2020 with the task of designing and implementing the PlayBack program for Germany. In addition to the regional specifics of the German market, special aspects of sustainability and communication were to be taken into account.

In Germany, toys have to be disposed of in household waste, and from there they end up in incineration. Changing this is absolutely uncharted territory. Particularly given Mattel's goal of not mixing the collected material with other waste streams, but instead using the toys sent in to manufacture its own high-quality products for children again, which Mattel can then claim for itself.

Feedback

"You want to develop a project that brings the necessary transparency. The communication must have a hand and a foot and be thought through from front to back. The biggest challenge for us was finding expertise for this very specific topic."

Anne Polsak,

Head of Corporate Communications DACH, Mattel GmbH
Power

Consulting, setup and operation of a customized take-back system

We created orientation in the complexity, eliminated risks and jointly launched an individual and truly sustainable project. We launched the global idea of Mattel PlayBack in Germany with a few special features:

Full transparency

on the process through practices and messaging that stand up to critical German public scrutiny. For example, only broken toys are to be sent in to prevent the premature disposal of products that are still playable and that children have outgrown.

Additional stationary collection

of broken plastic toys in retail outlets and educational institutions, so that physical anchor points are created in the everyday lives of the target group. In this way, the range and quantities collected can be significantly increased, while at the same time reducing costs and emissions per kilogram of old toys.

Restrained tone and wording,

which make clear: "We are on the way, but still far from the goal!" - We attach importance to the details of sustainability, for example little recyclable design of the past, how this now leads to problems and is therefore changed piece by piece.

Awareness raising and school integration

through collection boxes at schools and supplementary teaching materials on waste and sustainability, which have been adapted to all 16 state curricula from grade 1 and are available for download free of charge for educators.

#playback#mattel IMG 7240
Power

Project history

211201 CASES Illustrationen Mattel Projektverlauf
Power

Our services

Project management and expertise

  • Consulting Communication, Law, Sustainability
  • Concept
  • Creation
  • Network management

Material treatment

  • Waste collection
  • Sorting
  • Recycling
  • Compounding
  • Certification

Product Design

  • Co-creative design of playground components together with stakeholders
  • Production and assembly conception playground

Take-back system

  • Design retail and school collection boxes
  • Logistics & Mail-In Label Generator
  • GDPR-compliant reporting

Campaign assets

  • PR support for media campaigns, CRM mailings, brand communication integration, press relations and influencer marketing, among others
  • Copywriting
  • Regionalization assets
  • Website front- & backend
  • Development of teaching methods for all 16 state curricula
Kopie Von 1637224372873
Power

Partner network

211201 CASES Illustrationen Mattel Netzwerk
Feedback

"We take many small steps to achieve the big goal. HolyPoly has also supported me on side issues like the launch of the new Barbie made of Ocean-bound Plastic. Our initiatives have consistently been very well received by the public."

Anne Polsak,

Head of Corporate Communications DACH, Mattel GmbH
result

Mattel and HolyPoly lay the groundwork for a closed-loop materials system for play goods

Unique circular playground

As a growing end product of the German PlayBack collection and showcase for how development and manufacturing can be aligned with available recycled materials and thus true cycles.

Own closed material loop

Through a unique, in-house recyclate from PlayBack collection and a specially developed recycling process that enables the highest possible plastic quality with cost efficiency and compliance.

Collaboration with Mattel global product development

By recommending actions derived from an unembellished examination of our own circularity, which we experience firsthand in the project as recyclers of Legacy Mattel products over the past decades.

221012 CASES Mattel Playback Paket
Result

Media response

Plasteurope
Welt
Spielwarenmesse
Markenartikel
Result

What we have learned

Transparency creates trust

A brand quality image is not hurt, but on the contrary strengthened by credibility, if you openly communicate about your own broken products and their end of life.

The recycling box wins

Mail-in take-back channels for privately used consumer products have so far been little anchored in the public's consciousness in Germany. It takes a long time for a brand to be identified with it. The necessary mass for high-quality recycling can be reached more quickly via stationary collection, namely where the target group repeatedly passes by in everyday life, in the case of PlayBack, among others, in retail stores and educational institutions.

Barbies possess a long life

Barbies last more than 50 years and some people even manage not to lose the little shoes for the entire time!

Logo Playback (2) Copy
Result

Brand Journey

Client Industry

Toys

Cooperation with HolyPoly

Since 2020

Mattel Circularity Level

Beginner to watch - Mattel has made sustainability a corporate priority and is at the beginning of the journey to a circular economy

211201 CASES Illustrationen Mattel Weg
contact project management
Fridolin Holy Poly 3994 (please Use This)

Your contact
Fridolin Pflüger

is Project Owner Mattel #PlayBack and is happy to answer all questions about the project

Get in Touch

Let's talk!

No matter how numerous and big the challenges are - at HolyPoly every project starts with a good conversation.

IMG 9875
Cases

Mattel will bis 2030 ausschließlich nachhaltiges Plastik nutzen

Deutsches PlayBack-Programm startet als Innovationsprojekt

Mattel Schwarz
Feedback
Foto von: Anne Polsak,

„Auf den Punkt, produktiv, durchdacht, strategisch — ein guter, harmonischer Flow, wo wir super viel lernen und es einfach Freude macht. Ich bin total zufrieden und möchte noch lange weiter mit euch zusammenarbeiten!“

Anne Polsak,

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation DACH, Mattel GmbH
Inhalt

Bis 2030 möchte Mattel sein gesamtes Spielzeugportfolio auf zirkuläre Kunststoffe umstellen. HolyPoly hat dabei geholfen ein wegweisendes Recyclingprogramm ohne Greenwashing zu entwickeln. Neben der Beratung, gehörte auch der Setup und Betrieb eines maßgeschneiderten Rücknahmesystems zum Service. Gemeinsam Konnte dadurch die Grundlagen eines geschlossenen Materialkreislaufs gelegt werden.
 

Markenmission

Umstellung eines gigantischen Spielzeugportfolios auf zirkuläres Plastik

Kinder erschaffen mit Barbies ihre eigene Welt, fahren Matchbox-Autos über Fußböden und lernen spielerisch mit Fisher-Price. Mattel-Klassiker prägen seit über 75 Jahren die nächste Generation — Produkte, die überwiegend aus Kunststoff bestehen. Den Unternehmens-Purpose konsequent weitergedacht hat sich das globale Management dazu entschieden, in dieser Dekade die Kunststoffnutzung von Mattel entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette zu überdenken und auf nachhaltige Produktion umzustellen.

Mattel, Corporate Press Release, late 2019

„Mattel Announces Goal to Achieve 100% Recycled, Recyclable or Bio-based Plastic Materials in All Products and Packaging By 2030“

Dieses Ziel bedeutet nichts weniger als eine Zeitenwende, die viele Herausforderungen mit sich bringt:

1. Upstream

Woher bezieht Mattel in Zukunft Material? Brauchbare Quellen müssen konsequent nachhaltig sein, aber auch sicher, zuverlässig und compliant. Eine Suche nach der Nadel im Müllhaufen.

2. Downstream

Welche Design-Prinzipien müssen Mattel-Produkte beachten, um sich besser recyceln zu lassen? Echte Kreislauffähigkeit entscheidet sich in den Anlagen der regionalen Abfallwirtschaft von Zielmärkten. Eine ungewohnte Perspektive als Ausgangspunkt für die Produktentwicklung.

3. Brand activation

Wie kann Mattel sich frühzeitig positionieren? Plastik ist ein emotional stark aufgeladenes Thema, bei dem die Öffentlichkeit schnell an Greenwashing denkt. Insbesondere zu Beginn einer Nachhaltigkeits-Transformation gibt es viele technische, entweder geheime oder für die Zielgruppe uninteressante Details, die sich für eine glaubwürdige Unternehmenskommunikation schlecht eignen. 

CropIMG 0164
Feedback

„Das ist Terrain, auf dem wir uns alle nicht so sicher fühlen, weil es eine große Angriffsfläche bietet. Es geht darum, die richtigen Wordings und den richtigen Ton zu finden. Wir wollen Recycling populär und ansprechend machen, ohne zu dick aufzutragen oder Dinge zu claimen, die nicht wahr sind.“

Anne Polsak,

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation DACH, Mattel GmbH 
Projektziel

Ein wegweisendes Recyclingprogramm – ohne Greenwashing, dafür mit F&E

Mattel hat das Thema zur Priorität erhoben. Unter anderem in den Bereichen Verpackung, Produktinnovation, Sourcing und Kommunikation wurden Initiativen angestoßen. Eine davon heißt Mattel PlayBack und zielt darauf ab, kaputte Spielzeuge als Rohstoffquelle für die Produktion nutzbar zu machen und aus diesem Prozess für die Kreislaufwirtschaft im Großen zu lernen.

Anne Polsak

„Der Aufwand, das in-house abzubilden hätte einfach nicht im Verhältnis gestanden, weil es ein Riesen-Thema ist, und ein aufwändiges Programm. Ihr habt euch genau darauf spezialisiert und dann als Projekt-Owner alles komplett in die Hand genommen, auch im Projektmanagement, das hat extrem geholfen.“

That’s where HolyPoly comes in

Mattel kam Ende 2020 auf uns zu mit der Aufgabe, das PlayBack Programm für Deutschland zu konzipieren und umzusetzen. Neben den regionalen Besonderheiten des deutschen Marktes sollten besondere Gesichtspunkte der Nachhaltigkeit und der Kommunikation berücksichtigt werden.

Spielzeug muss in Deutschland in den Hausmüll und kommt von dort in die Verbrennung. Das zu ändern ist absolutes Neuland. Insbesondere unter der Zielstellung von Mattel, das gesammelte Material nicht mit anderen Abfallströmen zu mischen, sondern aus den eingesendeten Spielzeugen wieder eigene, hochwertige Produkte für Kinder herzustellen, die Mattel dann für sich claimen kann.

Feedback

„Man möchte ein Projekt entwickeln, dass die nötige Transparenz mit sich bringt. Die Kommunikation muss Hand und Fuß haben und von vorne bis hinten durchdacht sein. Die größte Herausforderung für uns war es, für dieses sehr spezielle Thema eine Expertise zu finden.“

Anne Polsak,

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation DACH, Mattel GmbH 
Leistung

Beratung, Setup und Betrieb eines maßgeschneiderten Rücknahmesystems

Wir haben Orientierung in der Komplexität geschaffen, Risiken aus dem Weg geräumt und gemeinsam ein individuelles und wirklich nachhaltiges Projekt gestartet. Die globale Idee von Mattel PlayBack haben wir in Deutschland mit einigen Besonderheiten aufgegleist:

Volle Transparenz

über den Prozess durch Praktiken und Messaging, die der kritischen deutschen Öffentlichkeit standhalten. So soll ausschließlich kaputtes Spielzeug eingeschickt werden, um zu verhindern, dass verfrüht noch spielbare Produkte entsorgt werden, aus denen Kinder herausgewachsen sind.

Zusätzliche stationäre Sammlung

von kaputtem Plastikspielzeug im Handel und in Bildungseinrichtungen, damit im Alltag der Zielgruppe physische Ankerpunkte entstehen. So können Reichweite und gesammelte Mengen deutlich erhöht und zugleich Kosten sowie Emissionen pro Kilogramm Altspielzeug reduziert werden.

Zurückhaltende Tonalität und Formulierungen,

die deutlich machen: „Wir sind auf dem Weg, aber noch lange nicht am Ziel!“ — Wir legen Wert auf die Details der Nachhaltigkeit, zum Beispiel wenig recyclingfähiges Design der Vergangenheit, wie dies nun zu Problemen führt und daher Stück für Stück geändert wird.

Bewusstseinsbildung und Schulintegration

durch Sammelboxen an Schulen und ergänzende Lehrmaterialien zum Thema Abfall und Nachhaltigkeit, die an alle 16 Landeslehrpläne ab Klasse 1 angepasst wurden und für Pädagog:innen kostenfrei zum Download verfügbar sind.

#playback#mattel IMG 7240
Leistung

Projektverlauf

211201 CASES Illustrationen Mattel Projektverlauf
Leistung

Unsere Leistungen

Projektsteuerung und Expertise

  • Beratung Kommunikation, Recht, Nachhaltigkeit
  • Konzeption
  • Kreation
  • Netzwerkmanagement

Materialbehandlung

  • Abfallerfassung
  • Sortierung
  • Recycling
  • Compounding
  • Zertifizierung

Produktdesign

  • Ko-kreatives Design der Spielplatzkomponenten gemeinsam mit Stakeholdern
  • Fertigungs- und Montagekonzeption Spielplatz

Rücknahmesystem

  • Design Retail- und Schulsammelboxen
  • Logistik & Mail-In Labelgenerator
  • GDPR-compliant Reporting

Kampagnen-Assets

  • PR-Support bei u.a. Media-Kampagnen, CRM-Mailings, Einbindung der Markenkommunikation, Pressearbeit und Influencermarketing
  • Copywriting
  • Regionalisierung Assets
  • Webseite Front- & Backend
  • Entwicklung Unterrichtsmethoden für alle 16 Landeslehrpläne
Kopie Von 1637224372873
Leistung

Partnernetzwerk

211201 CASES Illustrationen Mattel Netzwerk
Feedback

„Wir gehen viele kleine Schritte, um das große Ziel zu erreichen. HolyPoly hat mich auch bei Side-Themen wie dem Launch der neuen Barbie aus Ocean-bound Plastic unterstützt. Unsere Initiativen wurden durchweg sehr positiv in der Öffentlichkeit aufgenommen.“

Anne Polsak,

Leitung Unternehmenskommunikation DACH, Mattel GmbH 
ergebnis

Mattel und HolyPoly legen die Grundlagen eines geschlossenen Materialkreislaufs für Spielware

Einzigartiger zirkulärer Spielplatz

Als wachsendes Endprodukt der deutschen PlayBack Sammlung und Showcase dafür, wie sich Entwicklung und Fertigung an verfügbaren Recyclingmaterialien und damit echten Kreisläufen ausrichten lassen.

Eigener geschlossener Materialkreislauf

Durch ein einmaliges, hauseigenes Rezyklat aus der PlayBack-Sammlung und einen extra entwickelten Recyclingprozess, der die höchstmögliche Kunststoffqualität bei Kosteneffizenz und Compliance ermöglicht.

Zusammenarbeit mit der globalen Mattel Produktentwicklung

Durch Handlungsempfehlungen abgeleitet aus der ungeschönten Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Kreislauffähigkeit, die wir als Recycler der Legacy Mattel-Produkte der vergangenen Jahrzehnte im Projekt aus erster Hand erfahren.

221012 CASES Mattel Playback Paket
Ergebnis

Medienecho

Plasteurope
Welt
Spielwarenmesse
Markenartikel
Ergebnis

Was wir gelernt haben

Transparenz schafft Vertrauen

Ein Marken-Qualitätsimage wird nicht verletzt, sondern im Gegenteil durch Glaubwürdigkeit gestärkt, wenn man offen über eigene kaputte Produkte und deren Lebensende kommuniziert.

Die Recycling-Box gewinnt

Mail-In Rücknahme-Kanäle von privat genutzten Konsumprodukten sind in Deutschland bisher wenig im Bewusstsein der Bevölkerung verankert. Es dauert lange, bis eine Marke damit identifiziert wird. Die nötige Masse für ein hochqualitatives Recycling ist über stationäre Sammlung schneller zu erreichen, und zwar dort, wo die Zielgruppe im Alltag immer wieder vorbeikommt, im Fall von PlayBack u.a. im Einzelhandel und in Bildungseinrichtungen.

Barbies besitzen ein langes Leben

Barbies halten mehr als 50 Jahre und manche Leute schaffen es sogar, über die gesamte Zeit die kleinen Schuhe nicht zu verlieren!

Logo Playback (2) Copy
Ergebnis

Brand Journey

Branche

Spielware

Zusammenarbeit mit HolyPoly

Seit 2020

Circularity Level

Beginner to watch – Mattel hat Nachhaltigkeit zur Unternehmenspriorität erklärt und steht am Anfang des Weges in die Kreislaufwirtschaft

211201 CASES Illustrationen Mattel Weg
kontakt Projektleitung
Fridolin Holy Poly 3994 (please Use This)

Dein Kontaktmann 
Fridolin Pflüger

ist Project Owner Mattel #PlayBack und beantwortet gern alle Fragen zum Projekt

Get in Touch

Let's talk!

Ganz gleich, wie zahlreich und groß die Herausforderungen auch sind – bei HolyPoly beginnt jedes noch so große Vorhaben mit einem guten Gespräch.